NEC unanimously backed motion tabled by Momentum boss Jon Lansman to disaffiliate Labour Students.

The ruling body of the Labour Party has voted to disband its student wing, Labour Students.

The organisation, traditionally dominated by centre-left university students, was founded in 1971.

Previous executive members include prominent Labour figures, such as current shadow cabinet members Tom Watson and Jonathan Ashworth.

Labour’s NEC unanimously supported a motion tabled by Momentum boss Jon Lansman. Lansman claimed the NEC had never approved Labour Student’s affiliation.

Labour Students has had a full-time chair, based at Labour HQ, for years.

Lansman also claimed the organisation had not paid its affiliation fees to the Labour Party. In a statement, Labour Students said it had paid its affiliation fees as soon as its new committee had taken over.