UK border
Three more countries are removed from the UK's quarantine exemption list.

The Transport Secretary Grant Shapps has announced that more countries will be taken off the UK’s quarantine exemption list.

From Saturday 8th August, anyone arriving in the UK from Belgium, Andorra or the Bahamas will have to self-isolate for 14 days.

The move follows the government’s swift decision to remove Spain last month from the list of ‘safe’ countries that travellers can return from with no restrictions. The Transport Secretary himself was one of those caught up in self-isolation measures at the time.

In addition to the latest removals from the exemption list, two countries are being added. Travellers from Brunei and Malaysia will no longer need to self-isolate on arrival in England from Tuesday 11th August.