The contest to replace Theresa May as Conservative Party leader officially began on 10 June.

10 Conservative MPs have been nominated for the top job in UK politics. Over the next two weeks, their colleagues will whittle them down to two for party members to choose between.

Boris Johnson

Boris Johnson
Foreign & Commonwealth Office

Foreign Secretary (2016-2018); resigned over Theresa May’s Brexit deal.

MP for Uxbridge and South Ruislip since 2015. Majority: 5,034 (2017). Previously MP for Henley between 2001 and 2008.

Two-term Mayor of London from 2008 to 2016.

Jeremy Hunt

Foreign Secretary since 2018.

Previously Culture Secretary and Minister for the Olympics from 2010 before serving as Health Secretary from 2012-2018.

MP for South West Surrey since 2005. Majority: 21,590 (2017).

Michael Gove

UK Parliament

Environment Secretary since 2017.

Previously Education Secretary, Justice Secretary and Chief Whip.

MP for Surrey Heath since 2005. Majority: 24,943 (2017).

Sajid Javid

Home Secretary since 2018.

Previously Communities and Local Government Secretary, Culture Secretary and minister for equalities. Also served in the Treasury under George Osborne.

MP for Bromsgrove since 2010. Majority: 16,573 (2017).

UK Parliament

Matt Hancock

UK Parliament

Health Secretary since 2018.

Previously Culture Secretary. Has held a number of ministerial positions covering business, digital and energy.

MP for West Surrey since 2010. Majority: 17,063 (2017).

Dominic Raab

Brexit Secretary (2018); resigned over Theresa May’s deal.

Previously minister for housing and justice minister.

MP for Esher and Walton since 2010. Majority: 23,298 (2017).

UK Parliament

Rory Stewart

Rory Stewart
10 Downing Street

Recently appointed to replace Penny Mordaunt as International Development Secretary.

Previously chair of the Defence Select Committee, a junior environment minister, Minister for Africa and Prisons Minister.

MP for Penrith and The Border since 2010. Majority: 15,910 (2017).

Andrea Leadsom

Leader of the House of Commons (2016-2018); resigned over Theresa May’s deal.

Previously Environment Secretary, minister for energy and economic secretary to the Treasury. Ran for leader in 2016 before dropping out after comments she made to The Times.

MP for South Northamptonshire since 2010. Majority: 22,840 (2017).

Rex Features

Mark Harper

UK Parliament

Chief Whip under David Cameron (2015-2016).

Previously immigration minister, disabilities minister and political and constitutional reform minister.

MP for Forest of Dean since 2005. Majority: 9,502 (2017).

Esther McVey

Work and Pensions Secretary (January – November 2018); resigned over Theresa May’s Brexit deal. 

Previously junior minister for disabilities, Employment Minister and deputy chief whip.

MP for Tatton since 2017. Majority: 14,787 (2017). Previously MP for Wirral West from 2010 until her defeat in 2015.