Conservative Party announces timetable for leadership contest

Theresa May’s successor as Prime Minister will be in Downing Street in the week beginning 22nd July, it has been confirmed.

The Conservative Party has agreed the timetable for the leadership contest, due to be triggered by May’s resignation on Friday.

Conservative MPs have until 5pm on Monday 10th June to nominate themselves for the biggest job in UK politics. Under new rules, they must be supported by at least eight other MPs to be nominated.

Conservative MPs will then hear from the candidates at hustings. Ballots are scheduled to be held on 13th, 18th, 19th and 20th June as required to arrive at the final two candidates. Conservative Party members will then decide the winner.

The announcement that the winner of the leadership contest will be announced in the week of 22nd July could set the stage for an immediate confidence vote in the House of Commons.

The dates for the 2019 summer recess have yet to be announced. The House rose for the summer recess on 24th July in 2018, and on 20th July in 2017.