Several veteran backbenchers and former ministers to stand down

Labour MPs had until the end of today to declare whether they wish to defend their seat for Labour at the next election.

The party has brought forward its ‘trigger ballot’ process for the re-selection of parliamentary candidates in preparation for a potential snap election.

The following Labour MPs have declared they won’t seek re-selection by their local Labour parties.

Further Labour MPs could yet publicly declare they won’t re-stand.